A WAY WITH WORDS

I love Shakespeare. And I know that to people who aren’t that keen on his work, this sounds a little cliché. But, beyond the perfectly constructed characters and the intricate and enticing descriptions that most recommends his work , you can’t help but appreciate his quick wit. I don’t think many people understand just how relatable some of his work is. To illustrate, I’ve asked a few of my friends about their most relatable Shakespeare quotes .Most of them turned out to be insults, because obviously friendship should be build on trust, mutual understanding and a steady flow of 17th century insults…
Anyway, here you go:
1.“You speak and infinite amount of nothing.” – The Merchant of Venice
(TECHNICALLY, THE QUOTE GOES “GRATIANO SPEAKS AN INFINITE AMOUNT OF NOTHING…” BUT OF COURSE, YOU CAN’T USE THE ORIGINAL TEXT AS A CRUSHING INSULT.)
2. “Lord, what fools these mortals be!” – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
3. “I would give all my fame for a pot of ale, and safety.” – Henry V
4.“I do desire we may be better strangers.” – As You Like It 

5.“Heaven truly knows that thou art false as hell.” – Othello
By Danielle

Leave a Reply

